About me · Tags

The ultimate book tag

I wasn’t tagged to do this but I saw Faithreadsbooks do it and it actually seemed fun to do.

So here goes nothing.


  1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No, I don’t get sick in cars and I can do whatever I want in them. Mostly I read or watch a movie. Sometimes I try to listen to some music but we always have the radio on in the car and sometimes they like to turn in up so loud that I can’t hear my own music any more.
This can also be a reason why I don’t listen to audio books in the car. (Although I probably don’t listen to them because I don’t like listening to books)

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Uhm… The first book that comes to mind is Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon. So that must mean something. Right?
I just loved the way it’s written and the plot twist OMG. Amazing.
But I haven’t read any other books of hers so I guess I’ll have to read more to have a better judgement.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.  

Neither, sorry not sorry.
Why?
#1 My mom is the one who kept hating on Harry Potter and that is one of the reasons why I never got to reading it.
#2 My friends are ‘forcing’ me to watch all of the movies but there are so many and they are so long. But they did get me to watch 4 of them so far. I can’t say I like them but I also can’t say I hate them.
#3 I actually owned a copy of Twilight in Dutch. But after my grandmother read it, it went to my mom, who also read it, and then it just disappeared. My mom thinks she probably gave it away and I’m not planning on buying it again. And if I did, it would probably be in English.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it? (besides books)

Yes I carry a book bag. Kind of need it for school and stuff.
I try to carry a book with me wherever I go but sometimes I really don’t think I’ll need it and that I won’t get any opportunities to take photos of them.
There will always be a pack of tissues in my back, usually a mirror, my phone, Ipod and some other stuff that I will probably never use but ‘just in canase.’

5. Do you smell your books?

 Yes. It’s just so satisfying. No shame.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Both. I don’t mind if a book has illustrations but I don’t want a lot. Give me a map and it’s fine. I prefer to use my own imagination while reading a book instead of the illustrations doing that part for me.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

I don’t know actually… When I loved the book and I’m reading other people their review and they say it wasn’t quality writing. The only thing I do is scold them (in my head) and tell them how good the book actually is (again. All these conversations happen in my mind)
And then I forget about it.

8. Do you have any stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I used to “read” labels and “read” my mom her books. This is also something I wrote in my post Things I did as a child.

One time some friends from Australia crashed at our house when I was little, and the woman actually read to me before I went to sleep.
I didn’t understand a word English but I guess I just wanted someone to read to me no matter the language.

        9. What is the tiniest book on your shelf?

Thinnest book: Fallen too Far by Abbi Glines.
Shortest book (in height) : The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Plains of Passage by Jean M. Auel (Dutch version)

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I do try to write but it’s going very slow at the moment because I’m starting to doubt my story. I’ve been wanting to continue with writing it but I don’t think I can continue with what it is right now. So that means I’ll have to change the whole thing. That is kind of why I’m trying to avoid it, so I don’t have to start over even though I want to.

Also, I would like to become an author someday. To publish my own book and such. But having that as your whole career is difficult and also something I’m not planning on making my whole career.

12. When did you get into reading?

Since I was very young.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

I actually can’t remember reading any classics. At some point I did start reading Romeo and Juliet and A Midsummer Night’s Dream but never finished it.
I haven’t even read Anne Frank her diary. And I’m from the Netherlands. (Although this doesn’t mean every Dutch person has read this book. Or diary.)

14. In school what was your best subject?

Me is still going to school… (I wrote it like that on purpose) But I get my best grades in Maths and I used to get really good grades in Biology but I don’t have that class anymore.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would say thank you first and later give it to a thrift store or one of those bookcases where you can leave your books and take other ones with you. For FREE.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games… Well, I’ve read the Divergent series. It doesn’t look like Hunger Games whatsoever. But people seem to compare them. Just like the Maze Runner.
I even saw someone mentioning that the Selection is similar to the Hunger Games but I strongly disagree.

17. What is a bad habit you always do while blogging?

I get distracted… A lot.

         18. What is your favourite word?

Lovely

        19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I didn’t really know what a dweeb was exactly but it said a dweeb is a dorky or nerdy person… Now this question got confusing.

But I am a nerd.

       20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Vampires. Because fairies make me think of the Barbie movies. Although there is nothing wrong with that.

       21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels! I just love angels. For some reason their wings always seem to be very small in the books, or that is how I read it, but they are always enormous in my mind.

Also, the idea of flying just seems really cool.

But can’t shapeshifters turn into an angel… Or is that not how it works?

        22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits creep me out but I don’t mind them. As long as I don’t read the book at night though.
Werewolves are fine too I guess.
I have no obvious preference to any of them.

        23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires. Because I would choose the books Darkness Before Dawn over the Walking Dead any day.

        24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Both are fine I guess.

        25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Both sound pretty good. I think I would alternate between the two.


And because it’s a tag. I tag you! (That made me think of Pokémon) Yes you! And also the previous co-owner of this blog: Sharon.

Good luck to everyone! If you did this tag, please let me know in the comments. I would love to read them!

Love,
Manon

Leave a Reply

