Reviews

Book Review: Never Always Sometimes

Never date your best friend.Image result for never always sometimes

Always be original.

Sometimes rules are meant to be broken.

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they’d never, ever do in high school.

Some of the rules have been easy to follow, like #5, never dye your hair a color of the rainbow, or #7, never hook up with a teacher. But Dave has a secret: he’s broken rule #8, never pine silently after someone for the entirety of high school. It’s either that or break rule #10, never date your best friend. Dave has loved Julia for as long as he can remember.

Julia is beautiful, wild and impetuous. So when she suggests they do every Never on the list, Dave is happy to play along. He even dyes his hair an unfortunate shade of green. It starts as a joke, but then a funny thing happens: Dave and Julia discover that by skipping the clichés, they’ve actually been missing out on high school. And maybe even on love.

Image result for 2 stars

Never, Always, Sometimes is a book written by Adi Alsaid. I have never read any other book by the author nor did I even hear of him before. This post may include slight spoilers but I’ll give you a warning! Unlike my previous books I did read this book in English.

The plot. I liked the idea of a cliché list however I imagined a story with more depth and character development. I think if only the characters were different and there would be more relationship building it could have been a quite good story! I mean yeah I knew this book would be filled with clichés, it was it’s purpose, but it still felt like the book took a wrong step.

The characters were annoying. I liked Dave more than Julia, but they were still acting like special little snowflakes. Julia was especially over the top I’m not like the other girls- Cliché therefore I liked a Dave more. He was just a little bit more normal. They did have a little character development but I wanted to see their bond grow, wanted a detailed description of the clichés they were doing. Both Julia and Dave felt a little unrealistic at some points. Especially Dave who small spoiler ahead didn’t get drunk after a drinking game where he drank a lot and later on they even said that Dave wasn’t good with alcohol, so why wasn’t he acting like a drunk person when he was ‘drunk’!?
I couldn’t feel the bond they were supposed to have but I did like they way they talked with each other. Very playful and I like that.
Other reasons why I disliked Julia more was her annoying obsession with her birthmum who is a traveller that doesn’t really care about her daughter (Probably the reason why she gave Julia up for adoption) The amount of times Julia actually tries to be different just to prove her mum she is just as insane as she is, is way to damn high. The other reason is because of another spoiler ahead Her being just plain rude after Dave confessed his feelings about Gretchen. I mean she was supposed to be his best friend and best friends should not react like that whether they are in love or not. 

“Human beings are more or less formulas. Pun intended. We are not any one thing that is mathematically provable. We are more or less than we are anything. We are more or less kind, or more or less not. More or less selfish, happy, wise, lonely.”

Back to the story. It became really quickly annoying to read from Dave’s POV. Every sentence is describing his love for Julia. Like we get it dude you love her!? Later on there comes this love triangle and then the things happens major spoiler Dave finally steals Julia’s heart even though at that point he has a relationship with Gretchen. They of course break up but Dave was so quickly over Gretchen like damn son, did you even love her!?
All of this is so negative I’m sorry, the reason why I gave 2 stars though is because I did like the ending and did not see it coming. I also started to like Dave a little towards the ending because he stopped acting like that special little snowflake.

This books just wasn’t what I expected. I don’t really recommend it to anyone unless you’re like bored. The characters needed to be less snowflakey and deeper. Therefore I gave this book 2 stars. Did you read this book? If so what were your thoughts on it? I’d love to know!

Love,
Sharon

Leave a Reply

