Reviews

Book Review: The Darkest Powers Trilogy

The SummoningImage result for The darkest powers
The Darkest Powers Series, Book I

After years of frequent moves following her mother’s death, Chloe Saunders’s life is finally settling down. She is attending art school, pursuing her dreams of becoming a director, making friends, meeting boys. Her biggest concern is that she’s not developing as fast as her friends are. But when puberty does hit, it brings more than hormone surges. Chloe starts seeing ghosts–everywhere, demanding her attention. After she suffers a breakdown, her devoted aunt Lauren gets her into a highly recommended group home.

At first, Lyle House seems a pretty okay place, except for Chloe’s small problem of fearing she might be facing a lifetime of mental illness. But as she gradually gets to know the other kids at the home–charming Simon and his ominous, unsmiling brother Derek, obnoxious Tori, and Rae, who has a “thing” for fire–Chloe begins to realize that there is something that binds them all together, and it isn’t your usual “problem kid” behaviour. And together they discover that Lyle House is not your usual group home either…

The Awakening
The Darkest Powers Trilogy, Book II

Book II in the Darkest Powers trilogy takes us deeper into a world where the supernatural intrudes on the everyday with riveting effect.

If you had met me a few weeks ago, you probably would have described me as an average teenage girl – someone normal. Now my life has changed forever and I’m as far away from normal as it gets. A living science experiment – not only can I see ghosts, but I was genetically altered by a group of people who call themselves The Edison Group. What does that mean? For starters, I’m a teenage necromancer whose powers are out of control: I raise the dead without even trying. Trust me, that is not a power you want to have. Ever.

I’m running for my life with three of my supernatural friends – a charming sorcerer, a cynical werewolf, and a disgruntled witch – and we have to find someone who can help us gain our freedom back before The Edison Group finds us first. Or die trying.

The Reckoning
The Darkest Powers Trilogy, Book III

Only two weeks ago, life was all too predictable. But that was before I saw my first ghost. Now along with my supernatural friends Tori, Derek, and Simon, I’m on the run from the Edison Group, which genetically altered us as part of their sinister experiment. We’re hiding in a safe house that might not be as safe as it seems. We’ll be gone soon anyway, back to rescue those we’d left behind and take out the Edison Group . . . or so we hope.

Image result for 3 stars

Welcome to another spoiler free book review! This time I’ll be reviewing a trilogy written by Kelley Armstrong. I gave all the books 3 stars and now I will tell you why. Once again I read this trilogy in Dutch, jut like my last book review.

This book wasn’t what I expected. I don’t know if that is because of me or because of the previous book I had read. Right from the beginning I just didn’t feel it. The first book was quite predictable, the second book a little and the last one the least, but still had very predictable parts. Beside it being predictable I also felt like I was too old for this book. It felt like this was pointed towards 12 year old and I felt that way because of the way the characters acted, talked and the way things were written down. This is a young adult book according to the bookstore, but 12 year old me would have loved this book.

I did like the plot though, I mean I basically like everything with supernatural stuff, but the plot was okay. However I think the plot could have been written better with other characters and less childish features. Now you might be wondering what those childish things are but unfortunately I can’t tell you because I don’t really know it myself. It just gives childish vibes.

“You guys are weird,” Tori said.
Simon sat on the crate beside me. “That’s right. We are totally weird and completely uncool. Your popularity is plummeting just by being near us.”

Onto the characters. I didn’t really have a connection with any of the characters and beside that they all seemed a little stereotyped to me. Bad boy Derek, Savior Chloe, Bitch Victoria, Cute boy Simon… You know that kind of stuff. Now some of them turned out different, but most of it was so predictable…
The protagonist, Chloe, wasn’t that interesting. There could have been a little more character development and maybe a little more various personality traits. She basically stayed almost the same throughout the 3 books.

The books itself is perfect for people who do not want to read about Sex and don’t want too much romance. There is a little romance but it’s not the main story. Beside that there are a few gruesome detailed scenes about Necromancy. The details are mostly about either murders or zombies.

“He said “cool” like I say a Spanish word when I’m not sure of the pronunciation.”

These books left me without any special feeling. It wasn’t great but it also wasn’t bad. It is just there somewhere inbetween. The best has to be the last one because that one has the most action in it, so unlike the first book there aren’t many scenes where they are basically doing noithing. I would recommend it to the 12 year old me who used to read books like Fablehaven, Spiderwick and Wolf Brother but not to anyone who reads stuff like The Mortal Instruments, Harry Potter 9even though that is actually for children) and The Hunger Games. The book could have been better but it is what it is.
Did you read this Trilogy? Tell me your opinion about it below in the comments, I would love to hear them.

Love,
Sharon

One thought on “Book Review: The Darkest Powers Trilogy

Leave a Reply

