Goals

Books I’ve read this summer

In the beginning of this summer I thought it would be a good idea to write down 7 books I wanted to read this summer. So I wrote them down and decided to make a blog post about it. And here is the end result of 7 books I wanted to read this summer.

Since the blog post was posted on the 16th of July, that will be the starter date. (I actually finished reading a book the day before but that one doesn’t count)

I didn’t do THAT bad I think. I’ve read a total of 14 books and I’ve read 5 out of the 7 books I wanted to read this summer.

For some of the books I wrote a small review.


  • Title: The Infinite Moments of Us 17290266
    Author: Lauren Myracle
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Romance, contemporary
    Publication Date: August 27th 2013
    Publisher: Amulet Books
    Pages: 316

On summer to be read list: No

Date read:  July 20th, 2016
Rating: 1/5 stars

Review:
“His fingers, splayed against the stars, seemed . . . more than. More than fingers. More than a part, or parts, of a whole. Just as one plus one is more than two, she thought, not knowing where the idea sprang from, or why.”

First of all. Myracle tried but failed miserably.

Second of all. I don’t like the way it’s written. Sure, the chapters alternate between the POV of Charlie and Wren. But everything is written from a he/she side. To me, this makes everything VERY confusion.

Also. It’s sooo anti-feminist.

And eventually, after fighting my way through, I realized that everything in this book is not necessary. Nothing that is interesting, nothing that stands out and nothing that wants me to continue reading.

 

  • Title: The Selection  #110507293
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
    Publication Date: April 24th 2012
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Pages: 336

On summer to be read list: No

Date read:  July 23rd, 2016 (Read for the second time)
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

  • Title: The Elite #2 16248068
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
    Publication Date: April 23rd 2013
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Pages: 336

On summer to be read list: No

Date read: July 24th, 2016 (Read for the second time)
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

  • Title: The One #318635016
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
    Publication Date: May 6th 2014
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Pages: 323

On summer to be read list: No

Date read: July 25th, 2016 (Read for the second time)
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Note: I got kind of carried away with this series. I decided to read The Heir and The Crown because The Crown came out on the 3rd of May 2016. But for some reason I wanted to read the whole series again to throw myself back into that world… It worked.

I ended up reading the whole series in 10 days… Oops?

 

  • Title: The Heir #4 22918050
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance
    Publication Date: May 5th 2015
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Pages: 342

On summer to be read list: No

Date read:  July 28th, 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

  • Title: The Crown #526074181
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
    Publication Date: May 3rd 201
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Pages: 279

On summer to be read list: No

Date read: July 30th, 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

 

  • Title: One True Loves27189194
    Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid
    Genre:
    Romance, Chick Lit, Contemporary
    Publication Date: June 7th 2016
    Publisher: Washington Square Press
    Pages: 352

On summer to be read list: Yes

Date read: August 1st, 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

Review:
This is such a sweet book! At first I wasn’t sure who I was pulling for. Jesse. Or Sam.
I will say that in the beginning it was Jesse. Because really that was the only one I knew anything about.
But then came Sam.
And I’m choosing him all the way.

The story is great and I especially love the ending where it says something about true love. I had to read that twice while smiling like an idiot. That’s how much I liked it.

 

Note: I’ve been pretty positive about all of the books so far. Expect that one book.

  • Title: Highly Illogical Behavior 26109391
    Author: John Corey Whaley
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Contemporary, GLBT
    Publication Date: May 10th 2016
    Publisher: Dial Books
    Pages: 256

On summer to be read list: Yes

Date read: August 4th, 2016
Rating: 3/5 stars

Review:
Halfway into the book I was expecting it to be very predictable.

But it wasn’t

 

  • Title: The Problem With Forever26721568
    Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance,
    Publication Date: May 17th 2016
    Publisher: Harlequin Teen
    Pages: 474

On summer to be read list: Yes

Date read: August 8th, 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

Review:
This book… Is amazing.

Really.

I could say there are a lot of useless characters in this book. A lot of useless things that happen in this book. A lot of useless words.

But I’d be lying if I did.

Everyone and everything that happens in this books is for good reason. You might not like it. But you’ll understand. (Hopefully)

I can’t wait to read more books written by Jennifer.
I have high hopes for you.

 

  • Title: Red Queen 17878931
    Author: Victoria Aveyard
    Genre:
    Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction
    Publication Date: February 10th 2015
    Publisher: Orion
    Pages: 383

On summer to be read list: Yes

Date read: August 11th, 2016
Rating: 5/5 stars

Review:
This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time.

That asshole.

I can’t even

 

Note: I didn’t make any long reviews with everything in it because then this post would be even longer than it already is.

  • Title: Glass Sword 23174274
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
     Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
    Publication Date:
    Publisher: Amulet Books
    Pages: 444


On summer to be read list: No

Date read: August 20th, 2016 
Rating: 5/5 stars

Review:
This book kills you. 

Horrible

Cruel

But still so lovely

 

  • Title: The Distance Between Us 15283043
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
    Publication Date: July 2nd 2013
    Publisher: Harper Teen
    Pages: 312

On summer to be read list: No

Date read: August 21th, 2016
Rating: 4/5 stars

Review:
Can easily be read in a day. Good story and good writing. It’s not that you know what is going to happen. Not in details at least.

It end good (duh) but I wanted more. The story isn’t fully closed even when the book is.

 

  • Title: White Hot Kiss 17455585
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Fantasy
    Publication Date: February 25th 2014
    Publisher: Harlequin Teen
    Pages: 388

On summer to be read list: Yes

Date read: August 25th, 2016
Rating: 3/5 stars

Review:
I’m slightly disappointed. This is because I think The Problem With Forever, that’s also written by Jennifer, is way better than this book.

I ended up skipping a lot of sentences or just not really reading them. This didn’t make the story coffusing or anything. I just wanted it to be over.

Do I want to read the next book in this series? Maybe. Why? Because maybe the second book is better than the first. (Which doesn’t happen very often. Almost never)

 

  • Title: Since You’ve Been Gone18189606
    Author: Kiera Cass
    Genre:
    Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
    Publication Date: May 6th 2014
    Publisher: Simon & Schuster
    Pages: 449

On summer to be read list: No

Date read: September 3rd, 2016
Rating: 3/5 stars

Review:
I don’t like the beginning
And I really don’t like Sloane.

But I did like the ending.

Cute story… That’s the only way I can describe this. Not awesome. Not cool.

Just cute


Average rating: 4,2/5 stars
Average pages read:
356 pages
Total pages read:
4990 pages

Yes I can do maths


If you want to know what we are currently reading, you can follow us on Goodreads! You an click on our profiles at the left or click here for Sharon her profile and here for mine.

I hope you enjoyed this very long post and maybe you got some new ideas of what to read next. Or what to add to your growing TBR pile.

Your welcome.

Love,
Manon

Leave a Reply

