Reviews

Book review: Angelfall

It’s been six weeks since a220px-first_cover_of_the_paperbackngels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world
. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

five-stars

Welcome to my spoiler free book review of Angelfall, written by Susan Ee. Angelfall is the first book of a trilogy called Penryn and the end of days. I read this book in Dutch but I don’t think that makes a very big difference! 

I don’t even know where to start. This book just left me speechless. It was so good. I never thought a new book would enter my top 3 books but this one certainly did. I got dragged into the apocalyptic world where Penryn lives in by page one. Every single page was filled with enough action and I just couldn’t put down the book!

Now the plot is so creative! Like I haven’t read a single book where the actual angels turn out to be not so angelic. In fact, they’ve taken over the world and they’re killing off the humans. Nobody knows why and neither does Penryn. But she doesn’t really try to find it out either, her main focus is on getting her disabled sister Paige and her schizophrenic mother to a safer place since gangs are coming closer to their current one.

Now the characters are written so perfectly. They’re so human and they’re not the same at all. Every character is its own special and limited edition. The two main characters are the best.

“I never thought about it before, but I’m proud to be human. We’re ever so flawed. We’re frail, confused, violent, and we struggle with so many issues. But all in all, I’m proud to be a Daughter of Man.” ~ Penryn

First off we have Penryn a perfectly written kick-ass-protagonist. Like I said they’re all so human. The emotions all feel so real it’s sometimes like you’re Penryn. It takes a great effort to take care of Paige and her mother in a wrecked world like theirs. And yes it’s not always great, but she’s willing to fight for her little family. Especially when Paige is being kidnapped. Penryns has one goal and she’s going to make it no matter how though it will be. She wants to safe her sister so badly that she even is willing to work together with the enemy: an angel named Raffe who’s wings have been cut off. Which honestly is a very smart move! I truly respect her.

<

p style=”text-align:center;”>“Here, I’ll show you how to use it. Let me see your foot.”
“That’s a pretty intimate demand in the angel world. It usually takes dinner, some wine, and sparkling conversation for me to give up my feet.” ~ Raffe to Penryn

Secondly we have Raffe, the badly injured angel whose wings have been cut off. Now I absolutely fell in love with Raffe. I’ve never been so amazed by a character before. Raffe is in my opinion perfectly imperfect. He’s sarcastic and funny and I love those traits! Now he kinda reminded me of Jace from The Mortal Instruments but more like a way less annoying and cocky version. Raffe, I think makes the biggest character development and I loved getting to know more about him and see the relation between him and Penryn grow.

This book is not focused on romance and nothing feels forced at all. It’s all about saving page and the things they have to deal with on their way. So if you’re looking for an Angel book where romance is not the main point, this is it.

Thank you so much Susan Ee for writing this jewel! I need the next book like right now. I highly recommend this book to everyone if you like angel books. It’s very exciting and very unpredictable! I’m still speechless about the ending! If you have read this book, please comment your opinions about it in the comment! I’d love to hear about it!

<

p style=”text-align:justify;”>Love,
Sharon

One thought on “Book review: Angelfall

Leave a Reply

