Reviews

Review: November 9

Title: November 9

https://i2.wp.com/ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51EbJo5BRhL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
The edition that I own

https://i0.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1447138036l/25111004.jpg Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre:
Romance
Publication Date: November 10th 2015
Date Read: April 17th 2016
Publisher:Atria Books
Pages: 310
Ratings: 5 out of 5 stars

 

Summary from Goodreads

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

 My review

(might contain spoilers)
“It took four years for me to fall in love with him. It only took four pages to stop.”

The cover is cute or maybe charming, adorable or pretty. I do think the cover with the big 9 is better. The only reason why I think that is because of I can’t think of a story behind the other cover.
There is a hart in a pot and I assume that it’s about love. It’s not really telling a complete story. However, the cover with the big 9 seems to tell me more. First of all the stacked papers that fill the background. I assume this is because Ben is a writer and is actually writing a manuscript about their November 9.
When you look at what’s inside all the letters you can see the city. I don’t know enough about America to know if it is New York or Los Angeles (But I think L.A. because there is where they met for the first time)

The story is about two people who meet each other in a way that you can’t imagine actually happening in real live. On the first page we meet Fallon O’Neill. A girl who has been scared from the outside by a fire that almost took her live. Not much later we are introduced to the handsome but kind of cocky Benton James Kessler, aka Ben. A boy who is scared from the inside.
After their weird introduction, where the stranger Ben introduces himself as Fallon her boyfriend in front of her dad, they decide that they don’t want to stop feeling the way they do. Ben feels as he is happy again after a long time and Fallon also seemed to enjoy their time together. And because of this they decide to meet up for the next 5 years. They meet each other for the first time when they are 18 and will see where their relationship will go when they are 23. The reason for this is because Fallon believer that  one should be 23 year old before they could actually fall in love.
To keep each other occupied until they see each other again next year they give each other homework. Ben has to write a book about them and Fallon has to go out with five boys and kiss at least 2 of them.

I actually really like the story line. It’s funny and creative. Not really something I was expecting. Because of the summary I was a little scared for what was to come. They seemed to be a cute couple, even though they are not actually in a relationship.

The characters have a lot of depth. They have been thought out and carefully crafted. Not everyone is as important as the lead but this is obvious. One of my favourite characters is Amber. This is the best friend of Fallon and also the one who she shared an apartment with until Fallon decided to move to L.A. Amber is funny, smart and speaks her mind. It is a small role but definitely a good one.

The writing was great.

The writer herself: Colleen Hoover

Good details for where needed. I have read one other book by Colleen Hoover and she hasn’t disappointed me thus far. I like the way that there are different sides of the story. We have a chapter from Ben his point of view and another from Fallon her point of view. It varies by chapter.
I think this is definitely an upside to the book. To read more than one perspective.
I will say that I kind of missed Oliver and Jordyn in the end. (You will get to know them when you read the book) Oliver was mentioned once at the end. Just that he will be a big part of Ben his live. But that was about it. This doesn’t disappoint me that much because they are smaller roles in this book.

And now. About the plot twist. (That was oh so slightly pointed out in the summery)
While reading the book I couldn’t think of what possibly could be this big plot twist. But. When I finally got to it. It didn’t surprise me as much as I was hoping it would. The plot twist itself is predictably but I still hadn’t thought of it even though it was right in front of me.

Conclusion
To be honest. I loved this book and it will definitely be one that I wouldn’t mind readying for the second, third or fourth time. It is easy to read through and I haven’t read anything like it. Even though the plot twist was somewhat predictable. I still couldn’t have guessed the bigger story behind it.

I hope you like reading my first try at writing a review in English. If you have any pointers or if you’ve read the book yourself and want to say something about it. Feel free to comment this. We don’t bite. Really.

Love,

Manon

Leave a Reply

